Changes…cambiamenti

I never thought that I would have wanted to write anything other than my love for crafts on this blog. Until last Friday, when I woke up and read that the people of Great Britain had voted to leave the EU. Never before had I felt so disoriented, so disappointed, so sad. My husband and I felt that a wall had been built in front of us. I met my husband because of Europe. We are a European family, our children are bilingual. Suddenly, the freedom of choice is under threat. There is uncertainty. How will it change now? Political choices and ideologies have affected the way I think but never before have they affected the way I live. Never before have I questioned my way of life and what I represent.

These are really particular days and I often find myself crying. Who knows what will happen next. I hope that day by day I will find my positive and calm self again.

Before the Brexit I always had a positive attitude, I always looked at the positive side of things. Now I look around me and I think: do I really belong here?

Non avrei mai pensato di voler scrivere qualcosa che riguardasse la politica sul mio blog. Fino a venerdi’, quando mi sono svegliata e ho letto che la Gran Bretagna ha votato per uscire dall’Europa. Brexit. Non mi ero mai sentita cosi’ disorientata, cosi’ delusa, cosi’ triste. Mio marito e io ci siamo conosciuti grazie all’Europa. Siamo una famiglia Europea, i nostri figli sono bilingue. Improvvisamente la liberta’ di scelta e’ a rischio. C’e’ incertezza. Cosa cambiera’? Scelte politiche e ideologie hanno influenzato il modo in cui penso, ma mai prima d’ora hanno influenzato il modo in cui vivo. Mai prima d’ora mi e’ capitato di mettere cosi’ tanto in discussione la mia vita, cosa sono e cosa rappresento.

Queste sono giornate particolari, in cui spesso mi viene da piangere. Non so cosa ci aspetta ma spero che giorno dopo giorno riusciro’ a trovare la mia positivita’ e serenita’.

Prima del Brexit ho sempre avuto un’attitudine positiva verso la vita e ho sempre visto il lato positivo delle cose. Ora mi guardo intorno e mi chiedo: appartengo a questa terra?

 

I look at the pictures that I took since last Thursday. England still looks the same, yet everything has changed. The way I look at  it is different. Whatever will happen this referendum has already changed many things. It is dividing families, friends, a country and Europe.

Tomorrow is my day off. My plan is to go into my sewing room and focus on my creativity.

Guardo queste foto scattate in questi giorni. L’Inghilterra appare uguale eppure tutto e’ cambiato. Gli occhi con cui io la guardo sono diversi. Qualunque cosa succedera’, questo referendum ha gia’ cambiato tante cose. Sta dividendo famiglie, amici, un paese e l’Europa.

Domani e’ il mio giorno di riposo. Ho in programma di nascondermi nella mia piccola sewing room e concentrarmi sulla mia creativita’.

A presto,

Francesca

Leave a Reply

